Toast to Hal Daub

November 9, 2017 – November 9, 2017

1502 Cuming St.

View MapMap and Directions | Register


Join us in honoring former U.S. Congressman, Omaha Mayor and current University of Nebraska Regent Hal Daub! Enjoy cocktails, the Merrymakers musicians, emcee Mary Maxwell and a program of toasting Hal by his good friends! All this while supporting Merrymakers Association. When you support Merrymakers, you support live music, seniors, and life in your community!


Staff Update

We are writing to announce that Patti Craig is no longer with Merrymakers Association.  We thank Patti for her years of service and we wish her the best in her future endeavors.  We are excited to announce that Sandy Lemke will be serving as our interim Executive Director!  If you have additional questions, please contact Board President Dave Mayer at or Sandy at

Congratulations to Merrymakers performer Janey Hooper

From The Greater Des Moines Community Jazz Center newsletter:

Janey Hooper Photo

Every city has its jazz heroes, and Des Moines is no exception. For the past 15 years, the Community Jazz Center of Greater Des Moines (CJC) has honored these heroes with its annual Hall of Fame and Special Recognition Awards, October 18, at Adventureland Inn.

CJC will be inducting pianist/vocalist Janey Hooper (see article on page 3) into the Hall of Fame which now numbers a total 45 musicians. Special Recognition Awards will be given to trumpeter Dave Rezek and the Turner Center Jazz Orchestra. The Next Generation Award, which focuses on up-and-coming musicians who are making an impact on music in Des Moines, will be presented to guitarist Ben Chappell. The Bobby Dawson Award, presented to a student musician who has been involved regularly with the CJC monthly jam session, will be presented to saxophonist Taylor Igram from Valley High School.

The Hall of Fame event will kick off at 5:00 p.m. with a performance by the CJC Youth Combo. Doors open for the main event at 6:00 p.m. with live music followed by the ceremony and lots of live jazz by this year’s winners and some of Des Moines’ finest musicians, including the Jim Eklof Trio featuring Tanner Taylor on piano and Steve Charlson on bass.

Tickets for this year’s event are $20 in advance and $25 at the door. Food will be an additional option that may be purchased during the social time at the beginning of the evening. Visit or call 515-276-0777 for tickets.

COME EARLY FOR THE SILENT AUCTION: Bid on a variety of items that have been donated by CJC members including concert tickets, music lessons, artwork, restaurant coupons, autographed CDs, instruments and more. All funds raised will benefit CJC. If you have something you would like to donate for the silent auction, call 515-276-0777.